The TROP ICSU project was funded by the International Science Council (ISC) in its initial phase.

The project was conceived and being implemented by the  International Union of Biological Sciences (IUBS). The  International Union for Quaternary Research (INQUA) is the co-lead partner of the project.

The project partners include other international unions, national academies of several countries, national research centres, and United Nations agencies.


Project Partners

Project Partners

­­­­Institution  Representative
International Union of Biological Sciences (IUBS) :  Lead Partner Nathalie Fomproix
L S Shashidhara
International Union for Quaternary Research (INQUA):  Co-lead Partner  Allan Ashworth
International Union of Geological Sciences(IUGS)  Chris King
International Union of History and Philosophy of Science and Technology (IUHPST)  Catherine Jami
IMAGINARY Daniel Ramos
International Council for Science-Regional Office for Africa (ICSU ROA) Richard Glover
Indian National Science Academy (INSA) Usha Vijayraghavan
National Research Foundation of South Africa (NRF) Dorothy Ngila
International Union of Soil Sciences (IUSS) Barbara Birli
International Mathematical Union (IMU) France Caron
Christiane Rousseau
International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG) Keith Alverson
Tom Beer
Moira Doyle
Laszlo Szarka
International Union of Forest Research Organizations (IUFRO)   Mika Rekola
International Council for Science: Committee on Data for Science and Technology (CODATA) Simon Hodson
Australian Academy of Sciences (AAS)  John Buckeridge
Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Climate Extremes (CLEX) Sanaa Hobeichi
Monash Climate Change Communication Research Hub Tahnee Burgess
Mongolian Academy of Science (MAS) Tsendsuren Oyunsuren
Universidad Técnica Particular de Loja, Ecuador (UTPL) Verónica Iñiguez
African Union of Conservationists (AUC) Raymond Katebaka
Daniel Waiswa
National Research Center, Plant Protection Department, Egypt Hussein Salama
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Miguel Clusener-Godt
World Climate Research Program (WCRP)

World Meteorological Organization (WMO)

Boram Lee
Young Earth System Scientists community (YESS) Valentina Rabanal

International Working Group Meeting April, 2017

International Working Group Meeting April, 2018

International Working Group Meeting October, 2019

TROP ICSU at UN for Sustainable Development Goals Knowledge Platform

TROP ICSU featured by Global Partners and Collaborators

Project Implementation Team

L S Shashidahra, President, IUBS

Aparna Joshi, IISER Pune, India

Daniel Ramos, IMAGINARY, Berlin

Sanjana Singh, IISER Pune, India

Prabodh Bharose, IISER Pune, India


Nathalie Fomproix, Executive Director, IUBS, Paris

Rahul Chopra, IISER Pune, India

Philipp Legner, Mathigon, UK

Paloma Chandrachud, IISER Pune, India